Instagram is a way to capture, edit and share your photos and videos with others.
Use Instagram to:
Website URL: www.instagram.com
Instagram is intended for people over the age of 13. It is not possible to sign up for an Instagram account on the website. You need to sign up for an account within the Apple or Android app.
By creating an account, you agree to comply with Instagram's Terms of Service.
By default, anyone can view your profile on Instagram or the Instagram website. If you do not wish to share your profile, you can set your photos to private and your photos will be visible only to those users you've allowed to follow you.
Some profile information is not visible to anyone but you. This includes your email address, phone number, gender and birthday.
To make your profile private, you can:
Right: an example of how to make your profile private on Instagram.
Once you turn on Privacy, anyone who wants to see your photos, or followers and following lists, will have to send you a follow request that will appear in your news feed, which you can then approve or ignore.
To approve or deny a request, you can:
Right: an example of how to approve or ignore a follow request on Instagram.
More information is available at the Controlling Your Visibility page.
The visibility of your story depends on your account's privacy setting:
You can also hide your story from people you don't want to see it.
In order to flag a photo, you can:
Right: an example of how to report an inappropriate photo on Instagram.
In order to flag a comment on an Apple device, you can:
In order to flag a comment on an Android device, you can:
Right: an example of how to delete a comment and report abuse on Instagram.
In order to flag a user, you can:
Reporting inappropriate profiles or posts is anonymous and your information isn’t shared with the persons whose content you report.
Right: an example of how to flag a user on Instagram.
More information is available at the Abuse and Spam page.
When you block a user, the user cannot view your photos or search for your Instagram account. The blocked user is not notified when they are blocked.
To block a user, you can:
Right: an example of how to block a user on Instagram.
More information is available at the Blocking a User page.
The custom keyword filter can accept words, phrases, numbers, #hashtags, and emojis. When adding keywords, separate each keyword you want to filter out with a comma.
If a comment is posted with one of these keywords, it will only appear to the commenter and the commenter's followers and will be hidden for everyone else. This feature will hide filtered comments on old and new posts alike but if you turn the comment filter off or remove custom keywords, any comment with those keywords will be unhidden.