Messenger allows members of Facebook to connect and share with the people, places and things that they care about through message texts, voice and video calls, photos and videos.
‘Secret Conversations’ in Messenger are encrypted end-to-end messages, meaning no one (including Facebook), apart from the person you are messaging, can see these messages.
Website URL: www.messenger.com/features
Messenger is available to people over the age of 13 who have a Facebook account. Facebook will not create an account for a person who lists their age as under 13.
By creating an account, you agree to comply with Facebook's Statement of Rights and Responsibilities. For a succinct explanation of what can and cannot be posted to Facebook, check out the Community Standards page.
Only you and the people you’re messaging can view the contents and history of your conversation.
Each of your conversations is separate. Even if some of the same people are in more than one conversation, Facebook doesn’t combine those conversations into one thread. For example, if you have an ongoing conversation with just Jane, and then Jane is included in a different conversation among a larger group of friends, the original thread will stay separate from the group conversation.
A couple of things to keep in mind:
Facebook offers a wide variety of products and services, including communications and advertising platforms. Many of these products and services — such as Messenger are part of the Facebook experience. All of these Services are covered by Facebook's Data Policy, which describes how they collect, use and disclose your information.
To change your filter preferences from your computer:
Keep in mind, anyone on Facebook can send you a message. Messages that are filtered out of your inbox will appear in your Other folder.
If you select Basic Filtering, you'll see mostly messages from friends and people you may know (ex: friends of friends) in your inbox. Typically, messages from other people will go to your Other folder, and you won't receive a notification about them.
If you select Strict Filtering, you'll see mostly messages from friends in your inbox. Some messages from people you want to hear from may go to your Other folder.
Additionally, someone you're not connected to on Facebook may pay to ensure their message is routed to your inbox instead of your Other folder.
To report something that was sent to you from within the app follow these steps:
To report an abusive message from the internet browser on your phone, follow these steps:
When you report a secret conversation, recent messages from that conversation will be decrypted and sent securely from your device to Facebook’s Help Team for review, without notifying the person you’re reporting.
To report a secret conversation in Messenger:
You can also block messages directly from Messenger to prevent future messages from that person showing up in your inbox.
To block messages from someone:
Keep in mind that you'll need to have logged into the app through Facebook to report it.
The Messenger application is free to download and install. It also may be free or discounted to use over your data network (e.g. when you're not on Wi-Fi).
You can send or receive money in Messenger (e.g. send your friend $10 for lunch or receive $500 from your roommate for rent) after you add a debit card issued by a US bank to your account and install the latest version of Messenger. Once you add a debit card, you can create a PIN to provide additional security the next time you send money.
To send money:
To receive money:
Keep in mind your bank may take up to 3 business days to make the money available to you.
Please select Yes or No before submitting