Our mission

The Office is committed to helping young people have safe, positive experiences online and encouraging behavioural change, where a generation of Australian children act responsibly online—just as they would offline.

We provide online safety education for Australian children and young people, a complaints service for young Australians who experience serious cyberbullying, and address illegal online content through the Online Content Scheme.

Our goal is to empower all Australians to explore the online world—safely.

The Commissioner

Andree Wright - A/g Children's eSafety Commissioner

Andree Wright is the Acting Children’s eSafety Commissioner.

Andree has a wealth of experience in children’s online safety issues prior to becoming the inaugural Executive Manager at the Office of the Children’s eSafety Commissioner. Under her direction, Cybersmart developed its international reputation and its online safety resources have received 14 major national and international awards since 2012.

Andree’s appointment follows the succession of Alastair MacGibbon—Australia’s first Children’s eSafety Commissioner.

In a short space of time, Alastair established the Office as the national point of cybersafety leadership, working with industry, government and not-for-profit organisations in providing innovative, scalable and sustainable online safety resources to children, parents, teachers and the wider community.

In recognition of his many public and private sector online leadership achievements, Alastair was recruited as Special Adviser to the Prime Minister on Cyber Security, formally taking up the role on 30 May 2016.

Was this page helpful?

Please select Yes or No before submitting


Thank you for your feedback

Oops! Something went wrong. Please try again

Sign up for newsletter

Stay up to date with online issues, new resources and the latest research

Please specify your interests: