Kik is available to people over the age of 13. However, if you are between the ages of 13-18 years old, you may only use the site if your parent or guardian consents to the Terms of Service on your behalf.
By creating an account, you agree to comply with Kik’s Terms of Service.
By default, people you talk to on Kik can only see your display name, username and profile picture. They can't see your email address or phone number. Kik uses your username to connect you to people. When people you haven't talked to before message you for the first time, their message will appear in a separate section, and notifications for those messages are turned off by default. In messages from new people, the profile pictures are blurred, and so are pictures or content messages they may have sent.
Kik's privacy settings allow you to use Address Book Matching to find friends on Kik. If you have Address Book Matching turned on, Kik will match up an email address or phone number saved in your address book with a user's registration details. If Kik finds a match, they will notify users with a Kik message.
If you turn off Address Book Matching only people with your exact username can add you on Kik. To turn off Address Book Matching on your iPod or iPhone, you can:
To turn off Address Book Matching on your Android, Windows Phone 7, Symbian or BlackBerry device, you can:
Right: an example of how to adjust Address Book Matching on Kik.
More information is available at the How are random people messaging me? page.
If you are experiencing cyber-bullying or abuse on Kik, you can:
When you block a user, messages from that person will be hidden and all conversations with that person will be deleted. Also, when the blocked person tries to send you a message they do not know that they are blocked and the message is never delivered to you.
However, previous conversations, your profile picture, as well as changes you make to it will still appear on the blocked person's app.
To block a user, you can:
Right: an example of how to block a user on Kik.
Please select Yes or No before submitting